Posted in Blogging

Understanding Why

Today I thought I’d post my thoughts instead of poems or short stories for the Daily Post prompt — understanding.

I’d definitely like to understand why really terrible things keep happening every day.

The first is the fact that Brock Turner got 6 months in prison for his crime.

I’m sorry, what?

I can’t even get my head around how this happened and why his parents are so insensitive to the victim. I mean I get why. Sure, they love their son. It’s admirable. But reducing sexual assault to “20 minutes of action” and claiming that jail “would be a death sentence for him” shows that his parents are just as oblivious to what a serious violation this is as their son. This video has a lot of good points:

Secondly, the horrible shooting in Orlando. I’m not going to start on gun control laws and violence as I live in another country. I’m just shocked that such senseless hatred is directed at completely innocent people, killing at least 50. All of this not long after someone shot Christina Grimmie in the same city, added to the endless amount of violence happening in all of the other countries in the world because of war or simple misunderstandings is devastating.

The way to stop these problems is understanding why they happen. Always asking ourselves why, discovering the reason so we won’t repeat the same mistakes. Indifference and insensitivity can be deadly; the key is caring enough to do everything to stop such acts, starting from civilians to the highest government institutions.

Sometimes, acts of violence can’t be prevented. It’s the truth of life. But it’s possible to prevent some, if not many, future individual and mass killings. As is making sure offenders get an adequate punishment.

That’s all. Sorry for the negativity.

Till next time!

Author:

Absolutely fantastic procrastinator. Creative, often irrational, hyperactive. Reader, writer, artist, photographer, film-maker, gamer.

6 thoughts on “Understanding Why

  1. Few days after all this devastation happened I still find myself utterly confused, stunned- if not only speechless toward these kinds of violence. What went wrong, how did this happen, when did it start and why does it even have to happen at all. Seems like the world is becoming more and more dangerous and unsafe each waking day. I can only continue my prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I understand how you feel. It seems just like a bad dream to me and I still can’t wrap my head around what’s happened. I do hope the world becomes safer with time; it’ll take the effort of everyone to make sure that happens.
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Danica.

      Like

Leave a Reply

