Posted in drama, My Poetry, tragedy, Writing

Betrayal

This is similar in structure to another poem I’d written before, The Fault In Our Stars. Although the plots are very different.


I’m drowning. Help me, set me free —

I’m burning in the sunlight,

a poisoned sea has captured me.

forsaken by the moonlight.

I used to love the water‘s taste,

I had the sun’s protection,

I marveled at the ocean’s grace,

its light showed me direction,

and now, as death embraces me, I face a shameful end;

my killer is the entity I deemed to be my friend.


The poem technically includes water and fire but in my mind, the two are basically inseparable.

Feel free to tell me what you think in the comments!

Author:

Absolutely fantastic procrastinator. Creative, often irrational, hyperactive. Reader, writer, artist, photographer, film-maker, gamer.

18 thoughts on “Betrayal

Leave a Reply

